Opened 12 years ago

Closed 12 years ago

Last modified 12 years ago

#1534 closed Bug (invalid)

Transmission notices when users delete downloaded files manually

Reported by: roger Owned by: smmalis
Priority: High Milestone: None Set
Component: Transmission Version: 1.40
Severity: Major Keywords:
Cc:

Description

I am downloading a series of video sequences via a single torrent. However once downloaded in previous versions of Transmission I was able to immediately transfer the data per sequence to a portable drive and delete the original file. Transmission would continue downloading as per usual ignoring the fact that one of the files was no longer there.

Now I get - "Error: No such file or directory" when I do this and that means I can't download these massive sets anymore because my harddrive doesn't have enough space to handle them all at once.

I pressume this is a bug as I had no problems before this update.

Attachments (1)

Picture 1.png (9.5 KB) - added by roger 12 years ago.
what the error looks like and where..

Download all attachments as: .zip

Change History (9)

Changed 12 years ago by roger

what the error looks like and where..

comment:1 Changed 12 years ago by livings124

Did you try pausing and resuming the transfer?

comment:2 Changed 12 years ago by roger

Yes I restarted the download several times and rebooted the software more than a few times.

Looking through the forum - http://cli.gs/hs5vp6 I found my issue wasn't unique.

I have since followed what others have done now and downgraded to 1.34 and I have no problems. I am hoping 1.4.1+ will fix this problem.

comment:3 Changed 12 years ago by smmalis

If you do a verify local data it should fix it, although it will then redownload the file you just transferred.

comment:4 Changed 12 years ago by charles

  • Summary changed from Error: No such file or directory to Transmission notices when users delete downloaded files manually

cross-reference: #1302

smmalis: I'll let you field this ticket.

comment:5 Changed 12 years ago by smmalis

  • Owner set to smmalis
  • Status changed from new to assigned

My solution would be to uncheck the file after it is done downloading in the preferences box, then move it.

comment:6 Changed 12 years ago by roger

That is fine but then that requires a help file lookup by the user, because we won't know there is an order to negotiating the file transfer.

Just thought I would point that out.

comment:7 Changed 12 years ago by smmalis

  • Resolution set to invalid
  • Status changed from assigned to closed

There really is no perfect solution (short of you buying a bigger hard drive), but unchecking the file prior to moving it will fix your issue.

comment:8 Changed 12 years ago by roger

:) Thx

PS. I have the largest hard drive laptops can have and 1TB of backup/storage. :)))

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.