Opened 11 years ago

Closed 11 years ago

#3081 closed Enhancement (wontfix)

Option to auto-move data files when changing group

Reported by: Renara Owned by: livings124
Priority: Normal Milestone: None Set
Component: Mac Client Version: 1.92
Severity: Trivial Keywords:
Cc:

Description

Probably a bit niche, but might not be that hard to implement.

Basically if you set up one or more groups in Transmission to have a different download location from the default, then when you drag a torrent from another group then it will not download to the custom location, it'll use whatever settings were given when it was added instead (usually the Transmission-wide default).

What I'd like to propose therefore is that if a torrent is dragged into a different group, then the user will be prompted as to whether they'd like to adopt the group's custom settings or not, and what this will entail (will files need to be moved or copied, or just an edit the download entry?).

For example; say I have two main groups, the default (no group) and red. I want default torrents to download to /MyTorrents/? and the red group to download to /MyTorrents/Red/?. So I set up a default setting to have torrents go to the first location, and set-up the red group to go to the latter. I now add a torrent "AwesomeTorrent?" and it is added without a group, but I decide to move it to the red group. This torrent however will download to /MyTorrents/AwesomeTorrent?, instead of /MyTorrents/Red/AwesomeTorrent?. Not a big deal, but it'd be nice to have a dialogue appear warning me of this, and asking if I'd like to move the data file to the correct location. If that location were on another disk, then I'd be asked if I want to copy the data file to that location and remove the original, as I might not want to for a large torrent as it could a while.

Not a big priority, as though it's an absolute pain to do it is possible to do yourself using the data file option, or by enabling the add torrent dialogue for all new torrents, but a quick update option would be easier.

Change History (2)

comment:1 Changed 11 years ago by charles

  • Component changed from Transmission to Mac Client
  • Owner set to livings124

comment:2 Changed 11 years ago by livings124

  • Resolution set to wontfix
  • Status changed from new to closed

This seems to be a bit much. Moving without asking is a definite no because it is unexpected and expensive. The dialog seems to be approaching bloat in my mind. The "move data file to" doesn't seem like it's too big a deal to use. I'm going to have to say no to this one.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.