Opened 14 years ago

Closed 8 years ago

#451 closed Bug (duplicate)

Files remain in use after removal

Reported by: NETknightX Owned by: charles
Priority: Normal Milestone: 0.94
Component: libtransmission Version: 1.06
Severity: Normal Keywords:
Cc:

Description

In 0.92, if a torrent is removed using "Right-click->Remove All Files", the data file cannot be deleted by emptying the Trash. An error message appears with "This operation cannot be completed because the item <file> is in use." You must quit Transmission in order to delete the file. Moving the file out of the Trash and performing a "lsof" command shows that it is still opened by Transmission.

0.91 - No repro 0.92 - Repro

Change History (15)

comment:1 Changed 14 years ago by NETknightX

BTW, this is on Leopard.

comment:2 Changed 14 years ago by livings124

This is working for me. Is this reproducible all the time?

comment:3 Changed 14 years ago by m1b

I can confirm this as 100% reproducible with 0.92/3711 under Tiger. I select a finished torrent in the queue, remove it via Cmd-Delete, then drag torrent + data file into trash. Upon attempting to empty the trash, the Finder will complain that the data file is in use. lsof/Activity Monitor show the file being held open by Transmission. I can also confirm this did not happen with 0.91.

comment:4 Changed 14 years ago by NETknightX

Also reproducible 100% for me. It does not have to be a finished torrent either. I can reproduce it with a half-finished paused torrent as well.

comment:5 Changed 14 years ago by m1b

After further investigation, it appears that this always happens if the number of peers > 0 at the time the torrent is stopped. If I stop and remove a torrent with 0 peers from the queue, I can delete it and its data file without problems.

comment:6 Changed 14 years ago by m1b

  • Version changed from 0.92+ to 0.92

comment:7 Changed 14 years ago by charles

  • Component changed from Transmission to libtransmission
  • Milestone changed from None Set to 1.0
  • Owner changed from somebody to charles
  • Status changed from new to assigned

comment:8 Changed 14 years ago by sanmarcos

  • Version changed from 0.92 to 0.93

I can confirm this with 0.93

comment:9 Changed 14 years ago by charles

  • Milestone changed from 1.00 to 0.9x
  • Resolution set to fixed
  • Status changed from assigned to closed

Fixed in r3918

comment:10 Changed 14 years ago by charles

  • Milestone changed from 0.9x to 0.94

comment:11 Changed 14 years ago by ergophobe

  • Resolution fixed deleted
  • Status changed from closed to reopened
  • Version changed from 0.93 to 1.06

I'm not sure if this was fixed then re-broken or if I'm seeing a brand new bug, but I'm on Transmission 1.06 (r5115) on OS X Leopard and seeing this exact same behavior. I've noticed it in several versions prior to 1.06 as well but haven't reported it until now.

comment:12 Changed 14 years ago by livings124

First of all, make sure you check it on the current svn, not 1.06. Second are you having files moved on completion (as in, using an incomplete folder). If so, you can close this ticket and refer to #721

comment:13 Changed 14 years ago by livings124

  • Resolution set to duplicate
  • Status changed from reopened to closed

comment:14 Changed 8 years ago by cosmotic

  • Resolution duplicate deleted
  • Status changed from closed to reopened

This just occured on my Mac running OSX 10.8.4, Transmission 2.82 (14160).

I had a completed torrent. I removed it. I moved the file to the trash. I tried emptying the trash, "file in use". I tried again, file still in use. I quit transmission, tried again, and it worked.

comment:15 Changed 8 years ago by livings124

  • Resolution set to duplicate
  • Status changed from reopened to closed

Can you open a new ticket? This one's six years old and likely unrelated.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.