Opened 13 years ago

Closed 12 years ago

#476 closed Bug (fixed)

Don't re-download deleted/moved/ejected torrent data

Reported by: Waldorf Owned by: charles
Priority: Normal Milestone: 1.40
Component: libtransmission Version: 1.05
Severity: Normal Keywords:
Cc:

Description

Again a forum entry:

In uTorrent/Azureus (even the OS X version of the latter) whenever you're seeding a file, and delete/move that file from your hard drive while it's seeding, Azureus spits out a 'file not found' style error. The same thing happens when I disconnect the external hard drive I use on my MacBook?.
Transmission, however, redownloads the entire file again (to my internal laptop HD if it can't find the external HD) possibly messing up your ratio.
And:
Why not use the pause function when disconnecting your external drive. Then use resume function when you reconnect the drive.

The wisest way to do this is as any other apple apps work (most notably Aperture). Check/register for drive ejects/inserts and put the torrent in an 'offline' (ie disabled) mode/revive torrent if needed. (maybe still allowing the user to start stop the torrent while 'offline', to adjust the behavior when disk is available again) no dialog needed here.
In case of a file just disappearing, a dialog would be appropriate.

Change History (11)

comment:1 Changed 13 years ago by livings124

  • Milestone changed from Sometime to 1.x

comment:2 Changed 13 years ago by charles

  • Milestone changed from 1.x to 1.10

comment:3 Changed 13 years ago by Waldorf

  • Version changed from 0.93 to 0.96+

Just a note: I'm reading in the forum some very nasty bugs about peoples /Volumes folders being written to...

comment:4 Changed 13 years ago by charles

  • Version changed from 1.02+ to 1.05

comment:5 Changed 13 years ago by charles

  • Component changed from Transmission to libtransmission

comment:6 Changed 13 years ago by livings124

  • Milestone changed from 1.10 to 1.xx

This overlaps a little bit with the moving of the "moving" code into libtransmission, so it's probably best to implement this at that time.

comment:7 Changed 13 years ago by livings124

  • Milestone changed from 1.xx to None Set

comment:8 Changed 13 years ago by charles

  • Milestone changed from None Set to Sometime

comment:10 Changed 12 years ago by charles

  • Milestone changed from Sometime to 1.40
  • Owner changed from somebody to charles
  • Status changed from new to assigned

This is finally fixed in r6880.

comment:11 Changed 12 years ago by charles

  • Resolution set to fixed
  • Status changed from assigned to closed
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.